Marriage in California

Due to COVID, a marriage ceremony may be performed virtually so long as both parties to be married, the officiant, and the two witnesses are in California. (A Confidential Marriage License does not require witnesses.) Two people in an SRDP (State Registered Domestic Partnership) may get married (to each other).

San Francisco requires a weekday in-person appointment to obtain a marriage license. (Mid-2021 SF was doing online licensing but as of 2021 November 1 they have shifted back to in-person only.) The appointment may be made online but must be made at least a month in advance.

Alameda County allows for the marriage license to be procured online but it takes five weeks to process. Alameda County has the application online and then offers same-day licensing for walk-ins (no appointment needed) between 8:30am and 4pm, Monday through Friday. The in-person license issuance must be completed within 30 days of completing the application. Alameda County Clerk-Recorder’s Office, 1106 Madison Street, Oakland. 510-272-6362, 1, 4, 1. The fee is $98 (cash, check, or debit card) including one copy of the certificate. Both parties must attend the appointment and must present government-issued photo IDs. As part of the application, either or both parties may change their middle and or last names but not their first names.

A marriage ceremony must be performed within 90 days of obtaining the marriage license. The witnessed license must be sent to the appropriate county Clerk’s office within 10 days of the ceremony. American Marriage Ministries offers free marriage officiant registration.

2021 December 31

Start at 11am PST.

  • Groom Robert Mikio Free and Bride Penelope Everall Gordon.
  • Officiant: Angela Sevin.
  • Best Woman: Melody Ballenberg.
  • Best Man: Duane Stark.
  • Music: ?
  • Witnesses: Curtis Paige and Jess Nguyen.
  • Zoom moderator Matthew Tsunami.
  • Parents: Eleanor and Marshall Gordon, Yoshiko and Melvin Free.
  • Siblings: Robert Gordon (Catherine Gordon, David Gordon, Mary Elizabeth Gordon, Hazel Courtney), Virginia Steuber (Tom Steuber).
  • Others: Mark Stafford, David Ballenberg, Diane Stark.

Video check 10:30am PST / 1:30pm EST. Start 11am PST / 2pm EST. End at 12pm PST / 3pm EST.

Inscription on P’s wedding band: “GLE-AMF 09-12-05”. (George Lone Everall and Amy Mabel Ford married September 12, 1905.) Wedding band and three-diamond engagement ring were used by Amy Mabel Ford, Eleanor Elizabeth Everall, and Eleanor Helen Everall. The engagement ring was also worn by Patricia Everall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.